+

Traffic Court

A traffic citation has been issued for you to appear before the Lawrence County District Court. If you fail to pay or otherwise dispose of your case prior to the court date and fail to appear on your court date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest, your driver’s license may be suspended by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, the fine may be increased, and any bond posted may be forfeited. The Court date on your copy of the ticket is NOT A TRIAL DATE; if you desire to plead NOT GUILTY and want a TRIAL, you must appear in court on your court date to request a TRIAL.

Tickets listed in the chart on the next page may be paid by entering a guilty plea without a required court appearance, provided you have not been convicted of two or more traffic offenses in the preceding 12 months. If you wish to avoid a court appearance and enter a plea of guilty, sign the Defendant’s plea of guilty on the back of your copy of the ticket and attach your money order or cashier’s check for the amount of fine and costs indicated and mail it to:

District Clerk
14451 Market Street, Suite 300
Moulton, AL 35650

NO PERSONAL CHECKS. Personal checks will be returned causing a delay and late charges being assessed. Your signed plea of guilty and money order must reach the Clerk’s office before your court date. If it does not, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and your driver’s license may be suspended by the Department of Public Safety, all without further notice to you.

For questions or payment please contact the Alabama Traffic Service Center at traffic.alacourt.gov or by calling toll free (866) 954-9399. Cases may be paid with a credit or debit card by calling (877) 252-7294.

Processing of No-Insurance Tickets

THE DEFENDANT IS NOT REQUIRED TO APPEAR IN COURT IF THE DEFENDANT DID HAVE LIABILITY INSURANCE COVERING THE VEHICLE DRIVEN AT THE TIME THE TICKET WAS WRITTEN AND IF THE DEFENDANT CONCLUDES THE MATTER BEFORE THE COURT DATE IN THE MANNER DESCRIBED BELOW:

For an out-of court settlement, Defendant may show proof of insurance, or mail proof of insurance, valid before date of citation, to the District Attorney's Office, P. O. Box 625, Moulton, AL  35650 and request for dismissal prior to the assigned court date. No costs will be assessed if Defendant had insurance prior to the date of the citation; however if insurance is purchased after the issuance of the citation; court cost in the amount of $204.00 is due and payable to the District Court Clerk along with proof of insurance.  Be sure to include your name, phone number and address with your proof and citation. No personal checks will be accepted.

IF THE CASE IS NOT CONCLUDED BY THE COURT DATE, THE DEFENDANT MUST APPEAR IN COURT.

IF THE DEFENDANT DID NOT HAVE LIABILITY INSURANCE COVERING THE VEHICLE DRIVEN AT THE TIME THE TICKET WAS WRITTEN, THE DEFENDANT MUST APPEAR IN COURT.

Court appearance is required on the assigned court date if Defendant desires a trial. Court appearance is required if the Defendant did not have liability insurance specifically covering the vehicle driven at the time the ticket was written.

HELPFUL INFORMATION:
To avoid further court appearances, Defendant should bring to court all relevant documents at the first court appearance. For example, if the Defendant did not have insurance at the time the ticket was written, but has obtained insurance, proof of the new insurance may result in a lower fine. Also, if the Defendant had insurance coverage on another vehicle and the vehicle driven at the time of citation was newly purchased, the Defendant may bring proof of insurance on the other vehicle, proof of purchase of the newly purchased vehicle described in the ticket and a statement from the insurance provider that the newly purchased vehicle was covered at the time of citation, although the Defendant had not received the insurance card.

Tickets which may be paid without a court appearance.

Offenses

Fines and Costs

Driving on the wrong side of the road * $234.00
Failure to dim headlights $214.00
Failure to stop at railroad crossing * $214.00
Failure to yield right of way * $224.00
Failure to use child restraint $229.00
Failure to use safety belt $46.00
Following too closely * $224.00
Improper backing * $224.00
Improper brakes $224.00
Improper lights $224.00
Improper muffler $214.00
Improper or no rearview mirror $224.00
Improper passing * $224.00
Improper signal * $218.00
Improper tag/No tag $229.00
Improper tires $224.00
Improper turn $224.00
Improper window tinting $224.00
No helmet (motorcycle) $214.00
Operating a motor vehicle without a driver's license $279.00
Running Red Light or Stop Sign * $224.00
Speeding (less than 25 mph over limit) * $224.00
Speeding (more than 25 mph over limit) * $244.00
Stopping on highway * $234.00
Violating driver's license restriction or endorsement $264.00

NOTE: FINE AND COURT COSTS MAY BE GREATER IF NOT PAID BEFORE THE COURT DATE.

Please note that traffic violations not listed in the chart above cannot be paid without court appearance.

Defensive Driving School Options

If you have been charged with an offense indicated with an asterisk (*) in the chart above, you may be eligible to have your case dismissed upon completion of a Defensive Driving course and payment of court costs. This will allow you to avoid a court appearance and will prevent the accrual of points assessed against your Alabama Driver’s License as a result of this offense. To qualify for Driving School , you must:

  1. Be charged with an offense eligible for Driving School
  2. Have no previous citation for a moving violation and have never been arrested for DUI, and
  3. Be approved for Driving School by the District Judge.  Court appearance required on the date listed on ticket.

If you are approved for Defensive Driving your case may be dismissed upon payment of court costs after your completion of driving school. If you are NOT eligible for driving school, you may still avoid a court appearance by following the instructions on the previous page.